April 6th, 2010
04:07 PM ET

46 leaders to join Obama at nuclear security summit

Forty-six nations will join the United States at next week's nuclear security summit hosted by President Barack Obama, the White House announced Tuesday.

White House Press Secretary Robert Gibbs said Obama also will hold bilateral talks with some of the visiting leaders, including Chinese PresidentHu Jintao, during the two-day summit that begins Monday at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in the District of Columbia.

Other bilateral meetings will be with leaders of Armenia, Germany, India, Jordan, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Africa and Kazakhstan, Gibbs said.

He listed the nations participating in the summit as Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Switzerland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, Ukraine and Vietnam.

In addition, the United Nations, the European Union and the International Atomic Energy Agency will be represented at the summit, Gibbs said.

Post by:
Filed under: Barack Obama • World
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.